Reviews

The Wrath and The Dawn, by Renée Ahdieh 🌅

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I loved this book or how wonderfully it exceeded my expectations. If you loved A Court of Mist and Fury (which I’m sure you did), you would ADORE this.

wp-1472468833998.jpeg

Genre:

Young Adult/ Fantasy/ Romance/ Retelling

Pages:

388 (hardcover)

Praise:

  • “A riveting Game of Thrones meets Arabian Nights love story.” – US Weekly
  • “Lushly imagined and powerfully characterized, it’s a potent page-turner of intrigue and romance.”— Publishers Weekly
  • “This book is a fairy tale, a mystery, and … promises to become a classic tale of its own.”— VOYA
  • “Don’t be surprised if the pages melt away and you find yourself racing through warm, golden sands or drinking spiced wine in cool marble courtyards. This is an intoxicating gem of a story. You will fall in love, just as I did.”—Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend series and The Young Elites
  • “Dreamily romantic, deliciously angst-y, addictively thrilling.”— Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

One Life to One Dawn.

In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all. Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. How is this possible? It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen. Can their love survive this world of stories and secrets?

My rating: 5/ 5



Review:

I have only good things to say about The Wrath and the Dawn, aka fangirling material. Everything about this book was just perfect and each aspect of it blended nicely with the rest.

There was not that much action, but when it was, oh, boy, it had goosebumps written all over it. The magical elements completed the story and I can’t wait for this side of it to be fully developed in the next book (you have no idea how badly I crave the second volume; the ending is a killing cliffhanger). You don’t get boring parts, as the events are purposeful, but what you do get are feelings. This masterpiece is a rollercoaster of emotions. You go from hate to love to pity to admiration to veneration to frustration SO quickly. The reading process is really exciting.

There was a lot of lyricism and the writing was simply beautiful. It made me feel like I was part of the story, experiencing every state the characters went through. I sensed the images built to be so real, if not engaging. The setting was magical and there were plenty of Arabian? words to make right by the culture (now I wanna use joonam and delam for the rest of my life and you’ll have to read the book to know that they mean 😉 ).

The interactions between the characters came naturally. They were intriguing and amusing and I fell irrevocably in love with the good characters. Shahrzad is such a strong female character, emotionally and mentally and I wish to say physically, but here she is kind of fragile. But agile. And fierce. And smart. And brave. And you get the point. Khalid is like Rhysand, dark and noble and suffering and impossible not to like. I’m in love with him and so will be you. From the beginning of the book we are offered a vague justification for his action and I can say that that was a big reason why I was so thrilled about it. The words were fascinating.

Also, diversity is, thankfully, present, as well as girl power.

Another remarkable thing about TWATD is the love. It is filled with love. Family love, romantic love, friends love, everything love. An anthem dedicated to love. The relationships from the court are AMAZING, but I’m not getting into those because spoilers. Also, their greatness is overwhelming.

However, I can’t keep my mouth shut about the protagonists’ relationship. The romance is angsty and sexy. It is honest. It made me giggle. Reading about them together was like getting my Christmas presents. Furthermore, it is not cheeky. There are a lot of romantic phrases, but they are heart melting and passionate.

Lastly, the story is wise. There are so many lessons to learn from what happens in the book and the power of fairy tales truly stands out. What I grasped from TWATD will surely remain with me for a long, long while.

Overall, there are not enough words to express my love for this book. I can only hope that you’ll read it and see it for the game changing beauty it is. Now I’m just gonna leave you with this while I gush over Shazi and Khalid until the next blogpost. 😂

Some things exist in our lives for but a brief moment. And we must let them go on to light another sky.

2 thoughts on “The Wrath and The Dawn, by Renée Ahdieh 🌅

Leave a Reply

