Discussions · Recommendations

Top Books of 2016 🎆

Better late than never, amirite? In this post I’m going to  talk about my fave books that I’ve read in 2016. I tried to keep them to a minimum as last year was one of my best reading years in regard to both quality and quantity and so I chose 8-ish masterpieces that just made my heart sing with joy. Or smashed it against the toughest walls. They’re in no particular order. 

Let’s get to them already!

  1. It Ends With Us, by Colleen Hoover

When I think of  CoHo’s books I think of tears. And drama. And happiness. And then some more tears. But this novel went beyond all that in the best way. It is beautiful, heartbreaking and wise. It’s provoking, dealing with abuse. It tells the story of Lily and Ryle’s relationship, of how they deal with their past, their families and with each other under a nasty, nasty factor that threatens to tear them apart. Happy endings have never been so bittersweet…

  1. Salt To The Sea, by Ruta Sepetys

Oh, boy, was this a rollercoaster! Salt to the sea is about four teenagers that run away for their lives and get caught up in a maritime disaster, during World War II. This book is the best, a fast-paced page-turner. It’s like a puzzle whose pieces fit in perfectly. The characters are amazing and the overall story is epic and heartrending. A must-read.

  1. Tiger Lily, by Jodi Lynn Anderson

I just can’t believe how good this novel is. It reveals the love story between Peter Pan and Tiger Lily and it is heartbreaking and lovely and painful. Tiger Lily is probably one of the best female characters ever, badass and awesome and pure in her savagery. The writing style is delightful. This is one of those captivating, haunting books you’ll think about years after finishing them.

  1. The Bone Season, by Samantha Shannon

London. Psychic abilities. Secrets. Romance. Need I say more? The world of this novel is stunning. The magic system is brilliant. And I also enjoyed the romance for which I greatly hoped. Everything about it is simply appealing. I dived into it without many expectations and I was pleasantly surprised by how wonderful I found it to be.

  1. Daughter Of Smoke And Bone, by Laini Taylor

God knows why I had kept away from this book with such passion, for so long, just to discover how incredible it was when I read it. The setting is charming, the characters are fascinating. The story is bewitching and it has a magical vibe to it. Entertaining to the moon and back!

  1. The Wrath And The Dawn, by Renée Ahdieh

To put it in a nutshell, this book is one of my absolutely favorite ones. It has everything you could wish for, beautiful beyond words. My review says it all here.

  1. A Court Of Mist And Fury, by Sarah J. Maas

I feel like this is everybody’s favourite book. And I’m not even mad, ACOMAF deserves all the praise it gets AND MORE. It’s the second volume in the A court Of Thorns And Roses series and I have no words to express how much I love it. It’s simply marvelous, complex, intelligent and ready to give you all the feels. The characters are splendid, their growth is on point, the action’s seducing and guaranteed to overwhelm you with greatness.

  1. The Harry Potter series, by J. K. Rowling

That’s right. 2016 was the year I finally embarked in this fandom and I have to say, these books are astonishing. I read only the first five and my love for them knows no borders. I can already feel a hole in my heart when I think about reading the last 2 books.

And because I can’t stand the thought of leaving these babies aside, here’s some honorable mentions, a few novels that shook my world enough not to forget about them for a long, long while: Second Chance Summer, by Morgan Matson, Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes, although I hated the sequel, And I Darken, by Kiersten White (in depth opinion here), The Crown’s Game, by Evelyn Skye (review here)  and The Final Empire, by Brandon Sanderson.

Hope you read some amazing books as well!

Leave a Reply

