Reviews

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 🌎

I’m so bad at keeping up with this blogging thing, but hey, here’s a review of a book I’ve recently read and liked and I need to talk about it ’cause it turned out to be a disappointment!

EverythingEverythingCover

Genre:

YA/ Contemporary/ Romance/ Fiction

Pages:

310 (hardback)

Goodreads Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

My rating: 3/5

64473-200

Review:

Everything, Everything started off with a great, great idea! A girl who’s allergic to EVERYTHING and who’s bound to her house meets a boy and suddenly four walls are no longer enough. Impossible romance and oh, no, what are they going to do??? She’s also Afro-Asian, so a diverse character, and a smart, kind one as well. What could go wrong?

Well… everything. (See what I did there? No? Ok…)

At first, Maddy is really sweet. She listens to her mamma, she enjoys the little Universe her mother has built for her. She has no idea how the real world is and she longs to get to know it, which is understandable. But she is also resigned with her situation.

Until Olly shows up, insta-love happens and she starts acting entitled to him and to anything the world has to offer. However, their romance is well built up and I have to say they’re really cute together and Olly is a cinnamon roll! Maddy’s feelings are completely valid and she has moments when she is mature about them too. But, at least to me, their relationship is not a good enough reason to go crazy and start ignoring your mother who only wants the best for you or to be reckless and willing to sacrifice your life. Not to mention that the intensity of the love is nowhere near that point and it does feel a little superficial on Maddy’s side, as she’s so naive and impatient, but considering human contact is not exactly something she’s used to, I guess it’s ok to ignore it.

The most annoying thing about this novel is the plot twist. The ending ruins basically everything that started this story and it is somehow predictable and definitely a lazy way to conclude with, making all the action that has happened until then seem pointless. It’s not so realistic either, which only makes it worse.

On top of that, the writing style is simple. Pretty, but simple. There are some attempts to make it more poetic and dramatic, but considering that the story is told from Maddy’s perspective, it is unnecessary and plain, contributing with nothing as far as the protagonist’s characterization goes. On the other hand, I loved how educated Mad was and how she used fancy words casually. Very nice addition!

Moreover, there’s this weird thing. Madeline has access to books, to board games, her mother wants her to feel normal and entertained, but the internet is ‘a privilege’. She literally calls it ‘internet privileges’ and this frustrates the hell out of me. It contradicts so much with her mom’s desire to make her feel like she belongs and ugh, just ugh!

All being said, I wouldn’t say this is a bad, bad book. A missed opportunity, for sure, but still a fast, pleasant read and perfect if you’re looking for fluffy YA!

Maybe growing up means disappointing the people we love.

Leave a Reply

