Reviews

ACOWAR, by S.J. Maas – Review… kind of. πŸŒŒ

This could have been a proper review… but why not gush and rant over the book instead, right?

images

Genre:

High Fantasy/ Romance/ New Adult

Pages:

699 (paperback)

Goodreads Synopsis:

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

My rating: 5/5

64471-200

Review:

I can’t. I can’t. I can’t. I’m stunned and unconsolable.

Breathe in. Breathe out.

OK. Let’s try it. 

Maybe I should use another word?

OK. Let’s do it!

Yeah, better.

The real problem here is: will the pain ever stop? Probably not. Cause who needs life anyway?

Me.

I need life.

For the next 3 books.

Cause having my heart broken thrice is just not enough.

And to be honest, I think I’ll always need more of Maas’ books. They never fail to amaze me in one way or another or to just make me feel better… for a limited amount of time, as every time I finish one of her novels I lose a piece of my heart. They’re home. They’re my heart.

And ACOWAR is no exception, someone hold me.

First things first. You probably need to know that ACOTAR is one of my fave series and ACOMAF one of my all time fave books (but don’t tell that to the rest of them, OK? OK.) So you can imagine how overwhelmed I was by ACOWAR’s release- I missed this world so much it HURT- and, fortunately, by its story as well- MY NIGHT TRIUMPHANT AND STARS ETERNAL. Needless to say, I love it TO PIECES, despite its flaws. Yes, I had some issues that need to be addressed, so let’s start with them, huh?

  • I really don’t want to say it, but… at times… the writing… so repetitive, I thought I was not reading correctly, haha.
  • The steamy scenes. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some sexy time, especially between Rhys and Feyre, but was it really necessary to do it in a war camp? With dirt and dry blood all over you? Dying people a few meters away? (Fact that Feyre acknowledged.) Not to mention that they did it quite a few times and the things seemed to be only about that before and after and… what was the point?
  • Which brings me to the next no-no. After the High Lords’ meeting, our favorite couple goes to bed and Feyre says that she can’t have sex, being under the same roof as Tamlin. Excuse you? Where did that come from? No one said or hinted that you should do anything.
  • Feyre’s powers. Maybe it was just me, but I thought that she didn’t do much with them, didn’t explore them enough, at least the ones received from the High Lords.
  • Also a lot of the faes seemed to get tired kind of easily and not from doing wonderful amazing wild things with their magic. Meh.
  • Tamlin The Tool was still super annoying at times. Like, dude, chill, you’ve expired.
  • I’ve seen a lot of people complain about the lack of diversity or proper representation in Maas’ books and although it seemed like she tried to do better in ACOWAR, the LGB status of some of the characters felt like thrown in there, exclusively so no one could say that it doesn’t exist.
  • Mor’s fear to come out was a little bit disturbing as well, considering she lives in a society where no one bats an eye to your sexuality? Considering her family, it’s understandable. But her friends? And 500 years? She could have told Azriel, at least.
  • And one last thing. At the end, in the battle, there were so many poeple helping fighting, along deadly creatures, many more arrived in the middle of the battle… but they were still overwhelmed? Not really mad about it, but still. They were trying so hard and in vain, sort of.

Now onto the looooooovely parts that burned my eyes with tears and made my heart swoon.

  • Feyre’s growth. My Queen. So kind and brave and loving and sometimes damn annoying. She started off as a poor starving human and ended up as the High Lady of The Night Court, forgiving and accepting every part of herself and not once giving up her humanity. She’s a role-model. Fight me on that, I dare you!
  • Feysand. Their dynamic. Their love- I can’t handle their love, it’s astonishing. Their healthy relationship. Conjuring deadly creatures in the battle as a “mating gift”. Making a deal to go to the Other Side together when the time comes. Rhys giving Feyre a pep talk and promising to follow her on every adventure. Too much awesomeness.
  • Rhys’ humour, will to sacrifice (although it broke my heart so badly), and wish to do anything so his people and Feyre could survive. He kept whispering Feyre “I love you” while she was draining his powers and my heart kept shattering, Mother help me! He heard her from the Culdron!! Where he met Amren and offered her a hand thinking she might want to come back too!!! It was too much. Still is.
  • Misting a bunch of enemies was so cool I yelped.
  • Making a sanctuary for abused women out of a library. He’s the real deal, he’s everything.
  • The Inner Circle. How they love each other. How they work as a team.
  • The tiny ancient one. Amren was on fire. Literally. Every scene with her was golden.  Especially the one at the end. You rock, girl! And her and Varian? They brought me pure joy, I ship them so f-ing hard.
  • Nesta, aka The Queen Of Sass, being so fierce and dangerous and superbe. Also damn annoying at times. Guess it runs in the family.
  • Nessian. Love them so much. Such a strong couple.  And Nesta warming up to Cassian is so beautiful.
  • Cassian’s entrance when he and Az saved Feyre. Sobbed right along her.
  • Azriel. He’s grown on me. I want a book only about him. He’s so careful and attentive and gentle and strong it’s surreal. HE DESERVES ALL THE HAPPINESS!
  • Lucien getting along with the Inner Circle. Hell, yeah! He deserves so much better than Tamlin and his caprices. It was great, seeing him relax and get a breath of fresh air.
  • But… Tamlin. He freaking sent windy waves to help Feyre FLY AND ESCAPE HYBERN. IT WAS SO BEAUTIFUL AND BITTERSWEET I CRIED!!! Doesn’t mean he’s forgiven, but I do hope he ends up happy and overcomes his demons.
  • The Bone Carver discovering death.
  • The Suriel helping Feyre despite knowing it might die. Not fair at all, I wish I could change it, but such an emotional scene, great for Feyre’s evolution. Love that dreamer.
  • The way PTSD was dealt with. Realistic and not at all denied. Choosing hope and love to conquer it. And every character coping with it in different ways. Simply INSPIRING!!!
  • Elain healing in her own way and rhythm. Being offered power by the Cauldron because she’s a cinnamon bun, Lord, yes! Her friendship with Az was so needed and well done and right, I’m not even sure who to ship her with.
  • Also… can we call Jurian a cinnamon bun? I want to call Jurian a cinnamon bun.
  • Miryam and Drakon. I NEED to learn everything possible about them and their relationship. And oh, how they came with help! And how they teased Rhys!
  • Speaking of help… the Archeron Father was the perfect addition.
  • And our three fave sisters cuddled up all night long.
  • And Viviane and Kallias. Perfection. I’ll be very mad if they don’t get at least a novella.
  • Last but not least, the cover. It’s a jewel.

Oh, man, I’m nowhere near over this book.

I still can’t really believe it’s ended. I admit the finale was irritatingly open, although an amazing conclusion, and as long as the unfinished business is taken care of in the next 3 books, I’ll be more than fine. After all, those stories and not Feyre’s to tell. And although it makes me so sad and miserable that Feysand’s part is over, I hope it stays that way, because adding more to it might mean losing everything. I’m still not over Rhys’ death, as you can probably guess. I’ve become paranoid. Oh, well…

Leave them alone, Sarah, they deserve only peace and happiness!

(I’d be fine with them hunting Bryaxis, tho. Maybe playing with him? I’m not gonna lie, I find it adorable. Kind of reminds me of Abraxos.)

If I think about this book more, I’m gonna cry. Again. For half a day. Again.

I just love it so much, I don’t have the words to express it.

…too late.

Fuck.

My babies.

That have grown so MUCH.

My home.

Gone for another year.

It’s been EPIC, but…

Excuse me while I go and collapse.

Only you can decide what breaks you, Cursebreaker. Only you.

Leave a Reply

