Reviews

Uprooted, by Naomi Novik ๐ŸŒท

Was I super-duper excited for this PROMISING book? Hell yeah!!!

Did I like it? Well… it’s complicated.

22544764

Genre:

Fantasy/ Romance/ New Adult

Pages:

435 (hardcover)

Goodreads Synopsis:

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knowsโ€”everyone knowsโ€”that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isnโ€™t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

My rating: 2.5/5

64474-200

Review:

I don’t even know how to begin. I’m still wondering why so many people love this book so much. Reading Uprooted was like running a marathon and trying really hard not to faint before reaching the finish line. I’m so disappointed I could cry, honestly; it was just a hot mess. And not even hot.

The first thing I should probably tell you is not to go into itย  with expectations. Yes, the synopsis sounds extremely good,ย  but the synopsis is just 25% of the story. 25%. That should have been the main damned subject, but it wasn’t. Which was unexpected and annoying, to say the least. There were aย  bunch of other plots that got so tangled and before you’d get one (the romance or the plague, the Wood), another would explode in your face (politics, uninteresting conflicts) and nothing felt completely developed.

The main character was another major issue for me. Agnieszka was such a terrible protagonist and she came with zero evolution. She’s immature, selfish af and a little dumb (otherwise I can’t explain why she’d hold on to Kasia for such a long time and with such passion, cause their friendship didn’t look too special and did nothing for their personal development; it was just a device), at first presented as shy and clumsy. Surprise, surprise, she ends up being one of the most amazing characters in the book, bla bla bla. She thinks that she’s entitled to everything or that she has the right to do whatever she wants. She’s somehow ALWAYS right and has the BEST ideas and nothing else matters and this kinds of ruins the point of the love interest, The Dragon, which is supposed to be this strong, powerful, intelligent wizard, but whose decisions and thinking are questioned and dismissed 75% of the time.

And their relationship, man. It’s so badly built. In the first half of the book, the situation is actually nice. They manage to get along and find some balance between their differences, their conversations made me genuinely laugh and they were so cute, but then we don’t see The Dragon until the last chapters?! They don’t even become lovers, kiss only once, are separated for 200 pages and when they see each other again they do it. The only reason this book is NA is that sex scene that just doesn’t do… anything for the story. Stupidly inappropriate, especially because aside from the characters being a good match in theory, the romance is never truly explored. This is not a case of slow burning love at all.

Huh. I’ve got really passionate about all the wrong things with Uprooted. GOOD. BECAUSE IT’S BAD.

And I just keep thinking why this great potential has never manifested. I’m sad; I wanted to utterly love it I was beyond excited about the folklore aspect, but here I am, believing I’ve wasted my time. It could have easily been a series and therefore done the right way, so why this?

Not even the writing seems consistent, though. It’s flowery and beautiful at times, only to get lost in endless boring descriptions whose purpose is… nonexistent. Not to mention that there were times when I felt like the author didn’t know where to take the story or how a character’s personality should be.

However. There is one thing I liked about this book and that is the magic system. It’s not pretentiousย  and I loved how imagination played such a big part in Agnieszka’s learning and understanding process. Now that was some good quality content. Well, that and the cover. The cover’s stunning.

All being said, this is my review for Uprooted, the raisin in my cheesecake (I hate raising in my cheesecake.)

Let me know what you think about this novel and we’ll read each other next time!

I don’t want more sense!” I said loudly, beating against the silence of the room. “Not if sense means I’ll stop loving anyone. What is there besides people that’s worth holding on to?

Leave a Reply

